PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
Best way of learning thai
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Just wondering what others opinions on this are. I've been learning Thai kind of on-and-off since 2000, but it's all been self taught from books, tapes, websites (including this one of course ) and just generally practising in conversation. I think it's worked reasonably well so far but I'm wondering whether going on a language course might be better, as this way you can have all your mistakes pointed out, more easily get clarification of things you don't understand etc...

So my questions are, to anyone who's been taught Thai this way - was it worth it ? did you learn more this way than by learning by yourself ? can you only get so far self-taught before needing proper teaching to really progress ? or was it just a waste of time ? Anyone know a good course in particular to recommend ? I think there used to be a section on this board about language courses but I can't see it anymore.

Thanks for any opinions.

Thanks
    Hi Mike,

I was wondering about these questions my self (I still am).
    There must be many different answers, since different methods are suitable for different people.

I started to learn Thai in 2001 (on and off), and I tried to do it all by myself. However it seemed to me that my progress was too slow, so I took some lessons with a private teacher.
    After I got started, it was easier for me to continue by myself, using books, tapes and web sites.
    This works for a certain level, and also if you have some Thai friends that can assist you.

However, I think that beyond "Thai for begginers" , going on a language course must be very useful, and I am not sure books alone can make a good progress.