PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
Living/Working in Thailand
    Thanks

Living/Working in Thailand

Hello, i'm thinking of moving to thailand in a few years (or perhaps take a vacation there first) but i'm wondering about a few things.

Currenly i'm studying for a bachelor (engineering) degree in network infrastructure designing (basically computer networks).

I'm guessing it will be very hard to work there without knowing any thais because their equipment etc. is written in thais ? Obviously it wouldn't be the only reason to start learning thai before going there, i read a few things on it and it seems like a very hard language to learn.

Are there any other networking / computer experts here who can tell me if it is easy to find a job & what the expected payment is ?

I basically wanna complete my study, work 6 months for paying of my study loans & building up a little pocket chance.

Thanks,
    Ralph

Thanks

Re: Living/Working in Thailand

I have a friend working for a major international company in Bangkok, he is a programmer and IT expert (his has a special field of expertise). he says foreigners are only in the management positions, he hasn't met another foreigner in a similar position in a year, and it is pretty hopeless unless you get a placement from a multinational from back in Europe. he got his current job because the branch of the very same company back home had sent him to Bangkok to hold a one-month training for Thais, after which the Thais were so satisfied they were begging him to stay. IT salaries for Thais start at around 25,000 baht a month, foreigners earn at least double. and of course all programs and equipment is in English anyway, even at Thai-only programming departments, and most university graduates speak English quite ok.