PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
Question about moving to thailand
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

question

Hi, I am a white American novice Buddhist, thinking of moving to Thailand. I've been reading this forum for a while now, and it seems like the most logical career choice would be English teacher. I don't have a teaching degree or anything, would that be a requirement? Are there a lot of the these teaching jobs around, how hard would it be to actually get a job like that? How much money do you think I would need to move to Thailand? I'd like to live in a quieter area, close to the beach if possible.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks
    I suggest you visit the excellent ajarn.com web site as it has lots of information about teaching in Thailand.

You don't really need a teaching degree but there are courses you can do here for teaching English as a foreign language.

Difficult to say how much. The price you pay for a small condo here in Bangkok will give you a house in Chiang Mai! I think you might need at least 10,000 baht per month for a good condo and the extras. Some condos will be four times that price!

Good luck!
    Support the forum and chat rooms and buy computer software and books for learning Thai at www.BuyThaiBooks.com

Thanks

Gor Gai

speaking of teaching, my sister and i will be going over to thailand to teach english for a year. this is like a mission trip sort of thing. do you think we would need to take extra classes or what?

Vali Guest
    Mission trip? I hope you aren't teaching religion as well. I have a personal opinion against that...

Thanks
    I'm also against the idea of evangilising. I hate having people preach religion to me. But I think the two topics that are most prone to heated debates are religion and politics. So I'll steer away now.... peace

Thanks
    One question,