PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
My year in thailand

so happy!

Hi! My name is Jon Salonga and I come from Calgary, AB, Canada. One of my Thai nicknames was 'Dao' which means 'Star.' I was an exchange student in Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand, from July 2000 - June 2001.

Sometimes being an exchange student in Thailand was very easy. Other times it was very hard. I guess you could say that as the year went on, old difficulties went away, and new ones came to replace them.

The first thing that I had trouble with was with the culture itself. Even though I'm Asian (Filipino), a lot of things were very difficult to get used to. I really didn't understand why I had to be home so early, or sit down with my family when I was very homesick and didn't want to see them. I still hadn't quite perfected my 'wai' and was having trouble keeping my head level below that of my elders. And I always felt as though I didn't really belong in Thailand.

My first day in Bangkok (July 12, 2000,) I was faced with my first problem: the tremendous heat and humidity of Thailand. Everything stuck to me - my khakis, my 'Canada Kick Ass' shirt, my Rotary Canada blazer - like a bad smell. Luckily, Don Muang Airport is easy to navigate and I found my pickup. I had a bit of trouble with their body language - Thais make a gesture with their hands pointed down that looks like 'go away' to Westerners, but really means 'come here.' I think that all the Thai airport guards knew that I wasn't Thai because they were always pointing at me to follow my pickup!