PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
Giving children away.
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Thanks

Giving children away.

This is first hand knowledge; I was there, I saw it, and I still don't seem to grasp the deeper meaning of why it is a custom.

My brother-in-law (age 25) was severely injured in a motorcycle accident in Isaan (go figure) and was very lucky not to have been killed. After the accident it was announced by people-in-the-know about such things that my brother-in-law was marked with Bad Luck because of some unexplained spiritual problem with his parents. Beyond the normal transition from boyhood to manhood there was no apparent conflict in the relationship as I could see; but I guess that is why I am not an expert in such matters.

It was determined that my brother-in-law should be given away (or possibly sold because a little money changed hands: I am not sure). A gathering was arranged and it was determined which couple in the village would get my brother-in-law. The event was handled in Khmer so I could not understand what was actually said.
    At first my brother-in-law sat behind my in-laws and then he got up, walked over, and sat behind his new parents. After the ceremony took place he addressed his parents as father and mother and he also addressed the new parents as father and mother.

According to my wife this is more of an "appeasing the Ghost" thing than an actual exchange; but there are several level in which the exchange is very real. On Father's Day and Mother's Day my brother-in-law will be expected to present gifts to both Fathers and both Mothers. The new parents have free range to cousel when they think it is necessary.

Are there any other experiences in this sort of dealings?
    The Heart determines what is Possible by the Mind

Thanks
    Thanked 5,318 Times in 3,446 Posts