PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
4 months in bkk

Thread: 4 months in bkk

Thanks

Oopsie...

Hi! I came across this forum by coincidence but got stuck reading your stories and just decided to register. It's fascinating to read about your experiences with different cultures, some of them so different and some of them so similar to my own ones...

I'm a 23 year old student and I came to Bangkok in March this year to complete an internship here. I will work here until September and plan to stay in Thailand until the end of the year as this country has so many things to see and to discover... Things here are a way different from Europe but I am very happy here and I learn a lot about people (both, Thai and farang) every day.

When I was 16 I was an exchange student in Finland for a year, that was my first real experience with a different culture. Maybe the cultural differences between Germany (where I come from) and Finland are not so obvious, but they exist and sometimes they seemed even stronger, because I didn't expect them at all. However, I learned a lot during that year and since then I love to get to know the life of people in other countries.

Ever since I worked as a volunteer with exchange students from different countries; German students going abroad for a year and students coming to Germany. In my familiy we had an exchange student from Moldova last year - and Natalie taught us a lot as we didn't know anything about the country - it's one of these grey spots of the worldmap, at least everything but a major tourist destination...
    Working with exchange students has become an improtant part of my life in Germany and I miss it a lot here.