PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
Living in thailand as a mexican
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Raulsuppachok Guest

thumbs up

Well, what can i say about my experience as the first mexican afs exchange student in Thailand... i might introduce myself first.. my name is raul alfonso saenz aburto, i was born in mexico and lived all of my life here since 1984. i come from a middle low class family, i am studying highschool, and i am in love with thai people.
    i know that many farang visit the kingdom all the time, but they miss what is best in thailand. yeah, they go to the tourist places, and they might get to talk to some english speakin thais, and get wrong exagerated answers when they ask about thai customs. yeah thailand is beautiful, but its people is way more beautiful than anything else. its not the famous smile, its something else that u can only live if u get the opportunity of living in a thai family, with mom dad and offspring, and some grandaprents maybe.
    you cannot get to know thai culture just by listening to it or reading about it, or watching it as a third person, u should live it i guess... trying to become a thai (as many exchange students every year have to) is a very very very very difficult task. u have to erase all u know about good manners back in ur country, u have to learn tons of new stuff, having no other choice but doing it. Food, customs, language, adjustin to a new family, weather, people always lookin at you, and 100 things more...
    im so lucky i dont look like a farang they used to call me kaek (indian) which was better than being called as thousend of other foreigners are called....
    i lived in a small village in isaan for 5 months and 5 more months in samutprakan, or paknam, going to bangkok almost daily....