PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
Thai men becoming monks
    I recently read an article by Nattawud Daoruang in the Bangkok Post about him being a novice Thai Monk. I found this article both interesting and fascinating. I am currently a student at the University of Idaho in the United States. We are doing a bit of research on young Thai men becoming monks and the effects on the family. I myself lived in Thailand for two years and have a deep love for the country and people and an interest in the topic of Buddhism and being a monk. I was wondering if you could perhaps answer a few questions for me. This would greatly help our research and add a wonderful dimension to a presentation we will be giving next week.

What is the main reason young men decide to become a Buddhist Monk?
    What is the average age that young men become novice monks?
    Does the family put pressure on young men to become monks?
    What happens if a young man does not become a monk?
    How important is the family in the Buddhist Religion?
    Is there a designated amount of time that one must be a Monk?
    Does the young man's immediate family do anything different while he is a practicing Monk?
    Does becoming a Monk change the life of the young man, or is it a small part of the Buddhist Religion.
    Does becoming a Monk affect how soon a young man marries or if he marries at all?

If you could answer any or all of these questions that would be a great help.
    Thank You so much.

Thanks

The above picture is of me when I was a novice monk. I am the one in the middle. The following is the story I wrote for my web site when I was about 12 years old. It is different to the story in the Bangkok Post I wrote this year.

I Was a Novice Monk