PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
Doi Inthanon - tips, photos, ideas?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks

Doi Inthanon - tips, photos, ideas?

Going up to Doi Inthanon by motorcycle is something I have been postponing for four years. Now I am told it is easily manageable even on my small 100 cc so I am planning to give it a try next weekend, if I can get myself going, before the north hazes up completely. Now there are still nice views all around.

I have been up on the top twice, on package tours on both occasions, lots of rushing, not my style. If I go, I am planning to stay overnight. It is a long drive just to get there. I have a map and I can use google quite well to find out what's there to see, but I am interested to hear about your favourites, tips, any accommodation you can recommend, just anything that comes to mind. If you have photos, please share too!

Thank you.
    Last edited by Betti; 20-01-10 at 08:23 PM.

Thanks
    Thanked 5,318 Times in 3,446 Posts

Re: Doi Inthanon - tips, photos, ideas?

Don't know if you have been up it at this time of year before, but the last time I was up it there was freezing mist at the summit-the temperature was exactly the same as that in the UK that January day-take some warm clothing.
    (Thanks for the visitor message!)

Thanks

Hi Betti and all,
    This is my first post for a long time and glad to be back.
    The last time I was in Chiang Mai I hired a 250cc motorbike to ride the Mai Hong Song Loop this time of year. On my return to Chiang Mai I rode to Doi Inthanon and froze my self to the core. I was well rugged up by the time I reached the summit. A 100cc motorbike will do the trip slower than the bike I had but you will have no troubles. The journey is well worth the effort.

Thanks