PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
questions about displaying images of the flag
    Thanks

questions about displaying images of the flag

Hi, I am a college student. I was sitting in class recently and a friend sat next to me with his messenger bag. On his bag, he had a patch with a yellow flag on it. When I asked him about it, he said that he had recently been in Thailand and had bought the patch there. He said the yellow flag represented the King of Thailand.

So I am wondering, is it allowed (i.e. legal) to wear an image of the King's flag? Does Thailand have any laws about depictions of the flag, like on t-shirts or clothing?

Thanks,

Tim

Thanks

Re: questions about displaying images of the flag

I too am interested in this ...... in my travels around Thailand, I have seen flags of many nations. Some expats fly their national flag at their home and I have often wondered about the legality of that. Likewise, I have seen some terrible examples of the Thai flag..... old, worn flags that were mere tatters fluttering in the breeze. While I dont know the law, if I were living in Thailand and wanted to fly my national flag, I would fly it BELOW a Thai flag and I would ensure that BOTH were in good condition.

Thanks
    Thanked 2,018 Times in 1,175 Posts

It really depends on who your political allies and enemies are!

Thanks

talking Re: questions about displaying images of the flag

The thing I am most curious about is whether or not it is ok to wear the personal flag of the King like my friend was doing? I mean, one of two things can happen here:

1. Only the King is allowed to wear the King's flag with Royal cypher "..." and crown. Wearing His flag on your t-shirt or messenger bag will get you arrested.

2. People appreciate that you are showing your love for the King, and they think you are patriotic.