PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
How long?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How long?

Thanks
    Hello,
    I am an American college student hoping to move to Thailand after graduation. I am just beginning to study Thai and I was wondering how long it took everyone to learn the language. I am trying to teach myself. Has anyone had any success? My progress has been pretty slow. Any advice would be great!
    Thanks!

delawang Guest
    Start learning the alphabet right away because it takes a long time.

Study often but for short periods. Fifteen minutes a day in the morning and Fifteen minutes a day at night are much better than an hour a day all at once. I study when I first get out of bed and I am too sleepy to do anything else.

Get a white board and when you learn a new word or sentence structure, write it on the white board (you donít need to write the English, just the Thai). This will refresh your memory whenever you look at it.

Numbers are hard to learn because everyone learns them in order but we never use numbers in order. When you are stuck in traffic, just read all of the license plate numbers in Thai.

If you can afford it, get the Thai language software from Rosetta Stone. It is fun and will help with pronunciation.

As for me, after six years I am far from fluent but I can communicate. I am self taught other than a four week advanced reading class in Chiang Mai. I tested out of all of their other classes so they put me in that one. I hope some day I can take more classes, it is much better than learning on your own.