PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
Thai grammar books
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks

Gor Gai

I just bought a book today called "Thai: An Essential Grammar" by David Smyth. It looks quite a good book for people who want to further their understanding of their grammar. Someone was asking before for a book that deals with those particles at the end of sentences. Well, this has a chapter on it - 12 pages in fact! Seems to be quite comprehensive, though I haven't read through all of it yet.

Thanks
    Hi Jackie, I'd be interested to know what you think of it when you've had more a chance to look through it. I started learning Thai with David Smyth's 'Teach Yourself Thai' which I thought was excellent so I'm tempted to get this one too. Is it easy to get hold of in Bangkok ? Amazon UK don't seem to have it in stock

Thanks
    Thanked 1,442 Times in 638 Posts
    สวัสดีครับ

I too have this book and I highly recommend it, it is newly published in softback and sells for around 14 in UK. It makes a useful reference for more advanced students of Thai language, and indeed the chapter on language particles is very comprehensive. I just looked on Amazon in USA and they asking $72 !!!!! (okie okie thats for hardback but still )

If you are still in UK Mike, Waterstones Bookshops stock the book and if your local branch doesnt have it in stock they should be able to get for you within a few days

ผมเป็นฝรั่ง (i am guava)

Thanks
    Cheers for that information guava, I am still in the UK and I'll go and make a visit to Waterstones this weekend to see if I can find it.

Thanks
    I think the paperback version has only just arrived here as I don't remember seeing this book before. I bought it in Asia Books so I guess all branches would have copies. It is fairly expensive - 895 baht - which might mean they won't re-stock often.