PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
Living and working in thailand
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    HI everyone,

I am a singaporean student now taking thai language lessons in my university. My school vacation is going to start soon and i wish i can spend the whole 3 months in Thailand. As my aacaan always say, "you have to learn the thai culture if you are going to master the thai language". The sad part is, i dont think i have enough savings to spent my whole holiday in Thailand. So i am asking if anyone here know of any place where i will be employed in thailand while i learn the thai's way of living? I willing to do any decent job and will be very satisfied as long as the job can offer me some food and loggings. Advice anyone?

Thanks
    You can forget about working legally there. There are alot of work permit issues involved. Even if you do manage to find a 3months job there..you can't survive on those salary. What I suggest you can do is to do some volunteer work. You can check out organisations like SIF or you can check out this website http://www.volunthai.com/
    but these volunteer work will sure take you to the very rural and ulu places in Thailand. Is that what you want? As someone very near your age group...I can safely guess that is not what you want..ha..unless you are one of those studying social work in nus now..

Thanks
    ah yes..I forgot. You can also apply for a exchange program to Chulalongkorn University. And u'll have a full 6months there for all you want. But that's provided your AU requirements allow you to do that. I missed that cuz during that time, I was already in my final year here..and very sadly, the most advanced international modules offered by CU is only equivalent to my 2nd year modules, which I've already cleared. darn. Are we on the same wavelength here?

Thanks