PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
How do i take a public bus in bangkok?
    Thanks

question

Hi guys, I'm going to Bangkok for the first time, but on a really tight budget:( as I'm just a poor student on a shoestring budget.

1) What is the cheapest lodging I can find in Bangkok? Can someone recommend?

2) I intend to take the public bus as I think It'll be the cheapest way around BKK, but how does one take a bus in BKK - do I tell the bus attendant where I want to go, then give him the money, or is there some kind of box next to the driver where I deposit the money? How do I tell the driver that I want to alight? Do I press a bell or something? How does it work?

3) Also, besides govt public buses, are there also private buses? How do I tell them apart? Also, which govt bus no. travels through the most popular routes of BKK?

4) Will I have a hard time if I speak English to ask for directions or order food in BKK?

5) I will arrive 15 Oct. Can someone be kind enough to show me around BKK? I'll return the favour when you come to Singapore...

Thanks
    Iím no expert here but Iíll mention what I do know since no one else has yet.

Some of the cheapest lodging is in the ĎKhao Saní Road area. But, at times you canít find vacancies as itís so popular with young travelers. You may have to book ahead. A disadvantage of staying here is itís not on the skytrain or subway route, and not as much shopping as on Sukhumvit road. http://www.khaosanroad.com/