PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
High intermediate thai reading
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    tonbo Guest
    Hi everyone,

I want to say that this site and the information about the Thai language, culture and country here has been fantastically helpful! Thanks to all those involved for taking the time and trouble to do this.

I have been studying Thai seriously for about 18 months now. I am very keen on being able to speak well and also to be able to read Thai at a high level - newspapers, modern Thai literature and so on. Most of the material on this site (and some others) is mostly geared to beginners -- that's natural. Also some of the material on this site (Interview with a pop star, for example, and Gor's English and Thai essays [which I can't find now -- have they been removed??]) has been very useful indeed.

My problem now (and I am sure there are others like me) is that I can read easy Thai and also quite difficult Thai if I have some English vocab help and other hints. I can just about read newspaper articles and so on if I spend hours and hours looking in the dictionary!! I also know that if I get really stuck with something I can get help here, which is really good.

What I would like to request/suggest is that we start an intermediate Thai reading section here for people who have "graduated" beginner Thai and want to go on to serious reading (and speaking) in Thai. There is not (as far as I know&#33 anything like this on the web -- why can't this be the first site to do it. I'd love to help out with the reading selections and the English help, and perhaps other Thai learners on this forum would like to help out too.

What do you think, both webmasters and forum members???

Look forward to hearing from you....

Tonbo

Thanks