PHP Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(433) : eval()'d code on line 110
Plan to stay in Bangkok
    Thanks

Plan to stay in Bangkok

Hi,

I have a thai gf and planning to get married next year. I have strong intention to stay in Bangkok and purchase an apartment ( sorry, should be condo). I would like to seek some advice on how i can go about it and to hope to know more regarding visa and my stay in BKk base on my situation.

I am 32 this year, self employed and earn my income from the internet. I do not intend to find a job in Bangkok as my online income will be able to feed me. I have a degree in marketing and good internet marketing experience.

Will i be expecting any problem in getting my stay in Bangkok?

Thanks in advance for any advice.
    Last edited by LoveThai; 26-04-06 at 12:49 PM.

Thanks
    LoveThai;

Well.....firstly there is a bit of a langauge difference. The Thai word for 'apartment' is the same 'apartment' but in Thailand apartments are usually only for renting, just like a flat in England.

The word you are after is 'Condo', these are just like apartments back home, they are usually for 'sale only' but are often rented out on a one-to-one basis.

This word taken from AmEnglish is pretty corrupt in usage as it can mean anything from a rundown place on the edge of a slum to a glitzy 120million thing in the heart of Bangkok's business area.

Condos can be purchased and owned outright by foreigners, but usually payment in full is required. If you are gonna buy the thing on a mortgage basis through the bank, youll have to do it through a Thai partner.